Traveling Across the Southwest

Back and forth to Los Angeles, California for a week of training for my husband.  It was so interesting seeing the landscape change in big ways as we drove.  On the way back, I took photographs every thirty minutes or so.  Visiting the Los Angeles Botanical Garden (Australia and Madagascar areas), Flagstaff Arboretum, and Lubbock Arboretum has given me a new perspective on drought tolerant plants and more celebration of natural settings.  The Dallas Arboretum is a show garden year round.  I feel I can accomplish a different kind of setting in my own yard as I fill it with native and drought tolerant plants.  I purchased seed packets for flowering plants that are typical of the Southwest.  I will see if they will grow in my Texas Neighborhood Botanical Garden.

Leave a Reply

