First Pressure Canning

My first project in pressure canning is homemade chicken soup.

I used organic chicken, wild rice, and some organic veggies.  I had homemade stock which I defrosted.  Since my stove has a low overhanging second oven, my pressure canner would not fit under it.  I took it to my daughter’s house to use her stove.

Carefully following the directions, I had lubricated the seal between top and bottom (it is an All-American Canner so I put a thin layer of olive oil between the top and the bottom of the canner), added water, made sure to tighten the nuts on opposite sides simultaneously and set up a stool near the stove.

I watched the time, waited for the steam to vent and timed it for seven minutes.  Then I put the pressure gauge on, ten pounds for this altitude.  Once the gauge started jiggling, I nursed the temperature so the timing was right, between one and four jiggles per minute.  I counted seconds and kept track of the jiggles.  On my daughter’s stove, the setting was about “five” on the burner regulator knob.

During the cooking time for seventy-five minutes, I helped my granddaughter with her homework.  We also watched a cooking show.  When the time was up, I turned off the burner, watched the pressure go down to one PSI, removed the pressure gauge and left it to sit overnight since I did not want to deal with opening it up with the hot steam right away.

I will check it today and bring home my first pressure canned goods.

One more step in homesteading!

© 2012 Kathryn Hardage
http://www.KackyMuse.com
http://www.MyMusicalMind.com
http://www.InspiredPractices.com

Leave a Reply

