San Antonio Botanical Gardens

One day while my husband attended workshops at the National Science Teachers Conference, I went to the San Antonio Botanical Garden.

They have some formal gardens and some informal gardens.

The rose garden is formal and quite delightful.  Their formal beds of seasonal flowers are lush and beautiful.

There are several Texas habitat areas with appropriate plantings in natural settings along trails.

There are six small houses with water-saving landscapes!  I was glad to see several plants which I have in my own landscape.

I finally saw an actual plant of “agarita”, berberis trifoliata.  I would like to have one, but I have been having trouble locating it.

There is an outdoor amphitheater.

There are several “prisms”, glass structures above ground, to let in light for several indoor gardens underground.

I was happy to support the garden through purchases of a T-shirt and seed packets for Songbirds, Butterflies, and Bees.  I will plant them in my yard.

© 2013 Kathryn Hardage

www.KackyMuse.com

Leave a Reply

