Kacky Muse “Inspired Foods”

Yesterday and today were cooking days.  I picked up my organic basket from www.BountifulBaskets.org and planned this week’s menu from it.

Using organic canned chicken and broth and broccoli which I canned last year, I chopped up chard, onion, carrots and sauteed them in olive oil.  I cooked roasted brown rice and combined them together.  It made seven pint jars.  I stuffed two bell peppers today with that combination, using up 1 1/2 pint jars.

An organic butternut squash was included in the offering.  I baked it and scooped out the seeds and filled the two halves with apple chutney.  It is flavored with cloves and allspice.  I scraped the rest of the squash and mixed it with more apple chutney and packed it into two more pint jars.  We now have a week’s worth of MRE’s.

I made yogurt a week ago from raw milk and it has continued to ripen without getting soured.  Using four pints, I am letting it drip through cheesecloth to make yogurt Farmer’s Cheese, a cream cheese like consistency, which I will turn into a savory flavor with onions and spices.

Two pints of the same batch of yogurt have been added to a mix of almond meal flour, golden flax seed flour, coconut flour and shredded coconut plus two eggs to make cheesecake muffins.  It tastes delicious with a spoonful of apricot preserves which I canned last year.

It is really fun to invent new combinations of foods with canned and fresh ones.  We are enjoying the variety for our meals now.

© 2014 Kathryn Hardage

Leave a Reply

