A Delicious Memory

I served the cheese blintzes I cooked yesterday.  So delicious.  We ate some with a dab of apricot jam and some with fried apple peelings (I am dehydrating apples in the oven).

As is often the case, the taste made me remember where I had first eaten blintzes.  I remember being on the boardwalk at Long Island Sound, New York, at night in the summer visiting my grandparents.

It was a bit chilly for a small Texas girl.  The wooden boards of the walk were set so they came together at an angle in the center of the walk, so skating worked great in one direction.  Going the other way, you just had to skate across the boards, making it rumble and bounce you along.

I ate blintzes and knishes.  Cherry cheese blintzes and peppery onion knishes.  I loved tasting all the flavors and varieties, and my grandparents denied me nothing.

I remember my hair streaming out in back of me as I skated as fast as I could down the middle of the boardwalk.  It went on and on forever.  I was six years old.

Later, as an older teen, I went back and the boardwalk wasn’t so very long at all.

I still enjoyed the blintzes and knishes.

Maybe I will learn to make knishes, too.

© 2014 Kathryn Hardage

Leave a Reply

