Making Turkey Soup

When I make soup, I like it to have enough of a variety of ingredients to make it a whole meal. That way when I pack it in pint jars, I have a meal that is ready to eat (MRE) whether I am eating at home on my deck overlooking the meadow in the country or sitting at my desk in town.

Since I like it to be as nutritious as possible, I make my own stock to begin. Then I can add the variety of vegetables, plus rice or pasta which gives a particular batch its individual flavor. Experimenting with seasonings adds even more variety.

My basic vegetable combination is onion, celery, garlic and carrots. I sauté them with salt and pepper and any other spices I am trying out.

IMG_0744

For turkey soup, I start by baking an organic turkey with the spices I like. Then I debone it, saving the bones to make stock. At my husbands suggestion, I now wrap the bones up in cheesecloth so I don’t have to fish them out of the stock. I add water to fill the pot and simmer it to let the bones and water turn into stock.

This time, I added turmeric and cumin since I was looking for more of a taste of India. I will need to research this a little more; it turned out milder than I wanted. However, the turmeric acted as a wonderful natural die for the cheesecloth. After I washed it and set the color with vinegar, I ended up with some nicely textured and colored fabric for my journals!

IMG_0739

To continue with the turkey soup, after I finish sautéing them, I add the vegetables and spices combined with the turkey in pint jars to pressure can.

Look up the time for pressure canning for your altitude at http://nchfp.uga.edu.
Cook it all up now and then simply enjoy your homemade canned turkey soup during the next week.

© 2014 Kathryn Hardage

Leave a Reply

