Pumpkin-Applesauce Tarts

To make my new pumpkin-applesauce tarts, I combined my previously canned spiced applesauce with baked pie pumpkin. I set up the paper muffin cups in the muffin pan.

The next morning, I mixed up the basic pie crust from the Wheat-Belly Cookbook (almond meal flour and coconut oil – it is so very good!) and put spoonfuls in the bottom of the muffin cups. I added the applesauce-pumpkin mixture and baked it for 45 minutes.

Now we have an easy and healthy fruit-veggie dish that has a dessert crust for either a side dish or for dessert, itself.

It tastes just fine at room temperature, but when I reheat it, the coconut oil flavor really permeates the rest of the tart.

© 2014 Kathryn Hardage

Leave a Reply

