Barley, Beans and Greens

For today’s canning adventure, I started by putting a couple of tablespoons of barley in the bottom of each pint jar. I had cooked two cups of barley with five cups of water and it made a very chewy and tasty grain with more substance than oatmeal. (It works great as a cereal with butter and cinnamon also.)

On top of the barely, I added a scant half cup of organic red chori beans which I soaked over night the night before. I got them at the India market. They look like half-size black-eyed peas only with a red eye instead of black. They soaked up more water than any of the other beans I have canned.

For the remainder of the space in the pint jars, I added greens. I cooked down chard, beet greens, kale, and lettuce, along with the usual starter of onion and garlic cooked in sunflower oil. I added cumin, salt, pepper, and mango-habanero seasoning.

Once that had cooked down, I added a jar of previously canned broccoli. The mango made it taste a little sweet, so I counteracted that with jalapeno salt. Last year, I canned quarts of single vegetables, but I am converting everything into pints of ready-to-eat meals.

The total number of pints of Barley, Beans and Greens is twenty-one. I usually make fourteen or fifteen with two pounds of beans, so you can see the red chori beans really produce more for the same number of pounds.

In addition to canning the chori beans, I baked a small spaghetti squash. I will scoop it out and put the barley, beans and greens in it for another meal.

© 2015 Kathryn Hardage

Leave a Reply

