Eating Better, Eating Less

It has been a year and a half since I began to pay more attention to how I was eating and to change my practices.

I have never been markedly overweight, although since retirement, I have been much less active than when I was teaching early childhood music.

The food changes, however, have been significant.

I have been slow to embrace organic foods, but I have now done so as much as I can.

I began cooking from Nourishing Traditions and The Wheat-Belly Cookbook.

Using new cooking techniques and learning more about food have resulted in a much calmer stomach for me and a significant and sustained weight loss for my husband.

I feel better eating better quality food…a no brainer!

And I even feel better not eating chocolate!  (I know, its almost against my religion!)

I am calmer and I am satisfied eating much less.

I am amazed at the simplicity of the solution.

I’ve noticed that the organic foods I eat taste like food did when I was growing up in the fifties and sixties.

My mom simply shopped at the local grocery store.

But business has changed the nature of food.

And so my new practices are simply reestablishing the benefits I felt before food became big  business.

Today, we all need to be conscious of our food practices and observant about how they make us feel.

© 2015 Kathryn Hardage

One Response

  1. In a comment a short while ago on another blog I mentioned my surprise, years ago, when I saw that hardly any of the people I encountered who are passionate about native plants eat good food. I’d assumed there’s be a commonality of interests and practices there, but I was proved wrong. I’m pleased to hear that organic foods are doing well for you.

Leave a Reply

