Gardening Soil Mix

IMG_1034Following directions from various organic gardening workshops, I mixed Coir (coconut fiber), Vermiculite #3, and Horse Manure Compost from Redbud Compost, LLC to create a nutritious soil mix.

I filled several five-gallon buckets with it and added rainwater from more five-gallon buckets set along the roof-line of the covered deck for the purpose of rainwater collection.

Since the rainy weather has been so accommodating, I have lots of full buckets.

Then, we attended the Master Gardener Plant Sale in Neosho, MO and bought a couple dozen plants.  The next day we drove east to Mansfield, MO for Baker’s Seed Garden Festival and bought a couple dozen more plants.

I now have a combination of veggies, herbs and flowers to transplant into my container garden.

Since my dozen buckets of soil mix are not enough for the number of transplants I have, we also drove to Joplin the next day to the organic gardening store there.  I had a choice of 2.8 cubit foot bags or one large 33 cubit foot bag.  I decided on the smaller bags so they would be easier to move.  However, my husband measured the pallet for the larger quantity, discovered it would fit, and had it forklifted into the back of our small pick-up truck.

We made it home slowly.

We made it down into the creek crossing.

We made it back up the other side of the creek crossing.

My husband faced the pick-up uphill, lowered the gate, and then tugged on the pallet of soil mix.

It moved.

He tugged some more.

It moved.

He climbed into the bed of the truck and pushed.

It moved some more.

Finally, he tugged on it some more and stepped out of the way.

It rolled off the truck to its final resting place in the middle of the path.

Today, I opened it and filled the first ceramic pot with this delicious soil mix and planted my first transplant into it, lemon thyme.

It smells wonderful.

Tomorrow, I will continue the process for many more plants.

Let the gardening begin!

Sharing the peace…

© 2015 Kathryn Hardage

Leave a Reply

