The Season for Making Salsa

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-12-19-44-pmI like to have lots and lots of home canned salsa on hand for meatloaf, soup, stew, roast,  and just by itself, hot or cold, and for any recipe which would enjoy the addition of tomatoes.

Last year, I had over one hundred quarts.

After getting canning tomatoes from three different farmers at three different markets, I realized I was way behind and the season was drawing to a close.

I had made a few batches, but my usage was starting to catch up with what I had on hand and it was late in the season.

This Fall, I needed to make some more.

I checked around and found a local farm which had a sign for tomatoes and onions.  I dropped by and bought 109 pounds of canning tomatoes and 38 pounds of onions.  I was planning on two onions per batch of fifteen pounds of tomatoes, plus onions on hand for cooking.

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-12-16-13-pmAfter cutting out the bad spots on the tomatoes (these were very late in the season…), we had probably two-thirds left for canning.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-12-18-51-pm The onions turned out to be gigantic (!), so we only used one per batch.  (That is a loaf of savory wheat-belly bread in the background.  I think it is rosemary.)

 

 
screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-12-19-21-pm

We canned 43 quarts, which will last for quite a while.  I will just have to augment as time goes on.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-12-26-29-pm

My husband wanted to measure how many linear feet of salsa we canned, so he lined them all up on the deck railing.

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-12-20-37-pm

(I took a photo of him taking a photo of me.)

We have fifteen linear feet of salsa!

 

 

© 2016 Kathryn Hardage

http://www.kackymuse.worpress.com

Leave a Reply

