Making Sauerkraut – Kimchee

Cut up cabbage in the crock.

Cut up cabbage in the crock.

My first experience making kimchee began in a Korean market.  A customer took me from the produce section with my three heads of cabbage, garlic, carrots, and green onions and helped me choose a three pound bag of red pepper flakes.  She assured me this would be enough for the small amount I was making.  Her mother usually used ten heads of cabbage.  There were ten and twenty-pound bags of red pepper flakes to choose from there, too.

I made my “small” batch and put it into three 1/2 gallon canning jars in the refrigerator.  It took us months to eat it all up.

Several cloves of minced garlic.

Several cloves of minced garlic.

I am trying again, this time by combining aspects of the European, Mexican, Korean, and Japanese versions of sauerkraut in the “Nourishing Traditions” Cookbook.

 

 

 

Only 1/2 Tbl. of red pepper flakes. (Isn’t that a nice fitted wooden top my husband made?

Only 1/2 Tbl. of red pepper flakes.

 

(Isn’t that a nice fitted wooden top my husband made?)

 

 

 

A plate to cover  the cabbage.

A plate to cover
the cabbage.

 

A lone saucer fits inside nicely.

 

 

 

A quart of homemade salsa for a weight.

A quart of homemade salsa for a weight.

 

This was the nearest heavy weight I could find.

 

 

 

 

© 2016 Kathryn Hardage

Leave a Reply

