Weaving a Chevron Twill Across Four Colors

Our challenge project for Fiber Folks is to use the four colors of crayons we drew in a new project in a new technique.

Here are the crayon colors I got in a blind draw and the warp on the loom.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.51.52 PM

Can you believe the great matching yarn I had in my stash for the weft?

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.52.06 PM

Here is what the chevron twill looks like on the loom.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.52.21 PM

The chevron twill pattern is from a collection of different weaving drafts I tried out on various looms at our Fiber Folks retreat last summer.  I am working my way through as many as I can.

Here is the finished scarf, before I wash it so the fibers will draw together.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.52.36 PM

Learning a lot!

© 2017 Kathryn Hardage

Learning About Wool

I love it when the directions to a local workshop include “then you go down the gravel road for two miles until…”

I was part of a group of fifteen people learning about different kinds of wool, from about a dozen different kinds of sheep.

We learned a little bit about the background of the breed, characteristics of the wool, good combinations to make various types of items, rugs, socks, sweaters.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.40.42 PM

Then, we got to feel the different wools and see their characteristics.

What a fascinating new and very large vocabulary there is.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.42.30 PM

I also watched a video from Interweave Press about wool.  Way more than I could take in – which breeds of sheep and how to spin their wool to  take advantage of the best characteristics of that type of wool to make specific items, socks, sweaters, shawls.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 4.44.03 PM

Even on overload, I am totally loving my opportunities to learn new homestead skills to enjoy  more sustainable living in the beautiful surroundings of southwest Missouri.

© 2017 Kathryn Hardage