Yarn in Germany

I travelled to Hannover, Germany to see a museum exhibit and to take a test ride on a lightweight, foldable ebike.

The museum exhibit was in Norden, a three hour train ride away.

I had booked roundtrip tickets.

When I went to the restaurant to get take-away, I  found out the trains were on strike.

I confirmed that on their website.

I rested in my beautiful air b&b the next day.

I went to my scheduled ebike test ride, only to find the location had been changed.

I redirected myself to the new location, which turned out to be farther than expected once I got to the new train station.

I got tired walking to the new location and called the person who was to give me the test ride.

He assured me that I was close.

Not close enough.

He rode the bike to where I had decided that I could not walk any further.

He adjusted the bike to my height.

Not low enough.

It bumped my “lady parts”.

He adjusted it lower.

By then, I was “gun shy”, and did not get on the bike correctly.

I fell off and cried.

He rode his bike back to the factory and got the van to take me back to my train stop.

I backtracked to the original location and set up my tea and sketch at a local cafe to calm down.

After that I went next door to a yarn shop.

The owner found me the ideal textured yarn and weighed a finished scarf.

I bought three skeins.

It matches my fabric perfectly.

Even though my trip did not happen the way I planned, I was able to adjust and calm down.

There were too many factors beyond my control for me to feel bad about myself.

I had a lovely location to continue my daily writing and drawing.

I had lots of help whenever I needed it for redirection.

I got to know a bit about a new city and a new country.

I did not let these disappointments in my plans influence the next leg of my journey.

© 2023 Kathryn Hardage 

Leave a comment