Finishing Projects

It is always fun to start a new project, and I always have several works-in-progress.

As I rotate my attention, I move forward on everything little by little.

At some point, various projects near their finishing points.

Sometimes a project does not get finished for years.

That is the case with my socks.

I brought them with me when I moved to Portugal almost three years ago.

I finally figured out how to repair a mistake I made, so now they are wearable.

I even made a small matching cowl, really just a collar, to wear with them.

Sometimes I have a basic idea of what I want to make, but because I cannot figure it out at the time, it becomes something else.

That is the case with the long red waffle fabric nightgown I wanted.

Instead, I made a robe and pajama pants.

A couple of years later, I figured out how to convert them into a long nightgown.

It is a different design than I envisioned, but it works just fine.

A wonderful sock yarn with a variegated color scheme has become a shawl.

I created a new texture by doubling two of the colors, grey and blue, with heavier yarn.

The sock yarn, in purples, stands out as a more delicate look, creating a wonderful striped effect.

I love using my tuning fork as an original idea for a shawl pin for it.

Even though I was impatient to wear each of these projects, they all got completed in their own time.

I enjoy the many iterations a project will assume as I play with ideas for the fabric or yarn.

At some point, I find a beginning point, and even with multiple variations, a finishing point, as well.

© 2023 Kathryn Hardage 

Leave a comment